Cooperatio

COOPERATIO

Cooperatio is a programme of basic institutional support for science and research at Charles University, which as of 1 January 2022 replaced the Progress programmes, which ended on 31 December 2021. The key document is Rector's Measure No. 18/2021 - Cooperatio Programme Principles , which was discussed on 19 April 2021 by the Extended Rector's College, on 29 April 2021 by the Charles University Scientific Council, on 30 April 2021 by the Charles University Academic Senate and came into force on 5 May 2021.

The programme is based on a disciplinary structure. The structure of the Cooperatio programme's scientific areas and disciplines consists of 43 scientific areas within 4 panels (Humanities - "HUM", Social Sciences - "SOC", Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science - "SCI", Medical Sciences - "MED"). The scientific areas are further subdivided into disciplines and include all the scientific fields that will be systematically developed at the University over the next 5 years.

On 25 February 2021, the structure of the scientific areas and disciplines of the Cooperatio programme was approved by the Scientific Council of Charles University; on 27 May 2021, the Scientific Council of Charles University also approved the registration of faculties and university institutes of Charles University to the scientific areas of the Cooperatio programme.

The Faculty of Humanities has specifically subscribed to the following **fields** and **disciplines** within the Cooperatio programme:

FIELD	DISCIPLINE
Arts and Culture Studies	Aesthetics
	Theory and History of Arts
History	History and Philosophy of Science
	History
Literature	Literature
	Medieval Studies
Philosophy	Philosophy and Ethics
Media and Communication Studies	Media and Communication Studies
Psychological Sciences	General and Developmental Psychology
	Pedagogical, School and Counselling Psychology
Social and Cultural Anthropology	Ethnology
	Social and Cultural Anthropology
Sociology and Applied Social Sciences	Gender Studies
	Public and Social Policy
	Social Work
	Sociology
Health Sciences	Health and Clinical Psychology

In addition to ensuring the quality and development of scientific disciplines, the main objective of the programme is to mitigate the fragmentation of scientific disciplines within the UK. Cooperatio will be a tool to promote communication, coordination and cooperation between all faculties and higher education institutes of the UK where a particular discipline

is developed. The disciplinary breakdown will ensure compatibility with the internal evaluation of the UK's creative activity. In the longer term, the intention is also to better link the disciplines to the study programmes. Other important aspects of Cooperatio are its non-competitive nature and its inclusive principle, meaning that all academic and research staff and PhD students of the UK will be involved in the programme.

The Cooperatio will distribute most of the funds that the University receives from the state in the form of institutional support for the long-term conceptual development of the research organisation. The majority of the funds will be allocated by the faculties and university institutes to the scientific areas and disciplines in which they are involved; a smaller part will be available for the UK units to use for their strategic priorities in the field of creative activity (e.g. support for interdisciplinary or international cooperation, participation in newly awarded Primus projects, support for new research teams, etc.).

The Cooperatio programme is implemented in five-year cycles, with the first cycle running from 2022-2026.

Download:

Rector's Measure No. 18/2021 - <u>Cooperatio Programme Principles</u>
Structure of the Cooperatio programme fields and disciplines, including the application of UK units